Just Like Jackie

  • Sale
  • Regular price $16.99


An extraordinary middle grade debut about an unforgettable heroine and her unconventional family. In the tradition of Lynda Mullaly Hunt, John David Anderson, Holly Goldberg Sloan, and Ann M. Martin, readers across generations will cheer and cry for Robbie Hart as she learns that family is family, no matter what it looks like. For as long as Robinson Hart can remember, it’s just been her and Grandpa. Robbie knows they look like an odd pair, because her blond hair and pale skin don’t match his dark complexion—but those differences don’t mean anything to her. And though she wishes Grandpa would tell her more about the rest of her family, she’s learned over the years that he doesn’t like to talk about the past. But Grandpa’s memory is starting to get bad, and Robbie’s worried that soon he won’t remember their family—including her—at all. She’s sure that he would get better if she could stay out of trouble, but it’s hard to keep her fists to herself when bullies like Alex Carter make fun of her for not having a mom or for looking so different from Grandpa. It’s up to Robbie to learn how to deal with her anger and to keep her family together—no matter what. Ann M. Martin, New York Times bestselling author of Rain Reign, called Just Like Jackie “a lovely story of acceptance—about what makes a family and how we make our own families, and about embracing our differences,” and Cammie McGovern, author of Just My Luck, deemed it “as close to perfect as a book for middle grade children can get!” Just Like Jackie deals with the multiracial family experience, bullying, and a beloved grandparent’s decline, with a striking and uplifting message of acceptance, forgiveness, and unconditional love.